Henry the First

For those that know the full history of the current Henry you will have read that he is not my first Henry πŸ™‚

When I was 6 months old my parents brought home a kitten and called him … yes you guessed it Henry πŸ™‚

Henry was the love of my childhood we was alway together in house and garden and it is because of him I am passionate about moggies.

Just before my 17th birthday I went to bed and as heard this mighty meow in the kitchen. I went downstairs and for some reason he wanted to come up with me, so I picked him up and he crawled under my duvet with me. I remember this night so much and still brings tears to my eyes. He let out this mighty meow and purr and then Dad shouted “I hope your boy is not on your bed”. Telling Henry he got us both in trouble I picked him up and brought him back downstairs (Henry was not allowed on my bed my parents had a strict rule back then, which I would like to add they have lapsed with moggies since then LOL). Next morning I rush off to work and no sign of Henry which is not unusual, however when I returned my little sister (9 years old) and mum was on the sofa and when I walked through the door their red wet faces made me shout out ‘HENRY”. Mum told me in a distance as I run upstairs sobbing to my bed that he had an abscess and was in great pain and vet said it was best he went to the rainbow bridge.

Just short of 17 years this moggie was my life and since then now in spirit and when I look at current Henry I always see the two of them. They may not look nothing like each other, however their personalities are so alike it is quite scary.

Today I wanted to share him with you as it would of been his birthday and I felt this post was for him only πŸ™‚

Happy birthday Henry xxx

IMG_2951

IMG_2950

IMG_2949

About mythreemoggies

The every day life of three moggies living in the UK

Posted on 13/08/2013, in Moggies and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 21 Comments.

  1. Mama says new Henry could be old Henry reincarnated. We believe kitty brother Apollo was Mama’s old kitty reincarnated. Soul mates often return. Woooowooooooos and nose kisses, Ku

  2. Happy Birthday to you much missed sweet Henry what a handsome kitty cat πŸ™‚ I am sure he is back with you..our Cleo has the same personality traits spookily like our much missed Simba…I do hope they rejoin us as they are so terribly missed.Big hugs today Fozziemum xx

  3. Happy Birthday Henry. If we’re lucky to be brought up with cats, there’s always one that leaves that kind of imprint. Mine was called Boots. I found him after he’d been missing for a week, caught in a Forestry Commission wire trap around the base of his tail. His tail didn’t survive but he did for another ten years.

  4. He was a beautiful boy. And I’m so glad you had that last special moment together.

  5. Both Henry’s are beautiful. Mom always tells me her old dog Smoki lives inside me. I think she’s in my belly, because Mom gives me a million kisses there.

    Love and licks,
    Cupcake

  6. Oh Henry the first was beautiful and your current Henry is a most handsome boy as well. Quite possibly, since cats DO have nine lives, your first Henry made it back to you after all……I believe that can be true! I should imagine though that night when Henry wanted to come cuddle with you in bed he just wanted comfort from the one who loved him the most in his 17 years because he knew it might be his last cuddle…..I think cats KNOW when the bridge is calling them. A bittersweet day for sure – birthday for Henry the First, but lots of hugs and kisses and cuddles from your current Henry who is a MOST special boy!

    Hugs, Pam (and Sam)

  7. Is old Henry bigger than new Henry?
    I still remember the first cat we ever had, Flaco was his name, he was almost a dog. When he got home he was too little and weak and our dog had recently had puppies, he would join them and eat with them, poor cat was confused. Puppies would gang against him, he never scratched them. He was a good cat.

  8. Oh my what a beauty Henry the First was. You were a very lucky girl to have a fur friend like that for so long. You will always remember your First, But of course, Henry the Second is very memorable as well. (Hope you are feeling well and getting around.) – Lorian

  9. Thanks for sharing that story, even if it’s a sad one. We’ll never forget our beloved companions, won’t we? [http://tinyurl.com/lzm6fqs]
    Best regards from southern Texas,
    Pit

  10. He was beautiful and he lived to a ripe old age Shell. He will be forever with you πŸ™‚ xx00xx

    Mollie and Alfie

    Pe-ezz think you know I’m crap, I never know what to say when people lose pets they have loved. My eye’s just start watering xx

  11. da tabbies o trout towne

    henry…ewe bee one awesum dood…may we invite ewe ta boe boe’s fish N fry; we will sell a brate yur birthday RB style with sum rainbow trout N all de cake we wanna eat coz we CAN…& we can mew bout how kewl R peepulz iz….meet up round say…6:23 ??!!

    dude k, RB cloud 777313
    sauce of fishbone, RB cloud 777315

  12. Happy birthday to Henry mark1. Mummy knows how you feel her cat figaro had an abscess too and had to be put down when she was at uni. Sad times xxx

  13. Thank you all for your comments this is a very heartfelt post which is rare for me :-). He was a lovely tabby and I am glad I had the opportunity to share him with you all xxx

  14. Wow that was touching. Thanks for such a wonderful post about Henry I. – Happy Birthday to you King Henry the I.

  15. What a handsome guy Henry the First was. Purrs to you as you remember him today.

  16. One’s first kitty always leaves the sweetest memories!! Your Henry is the dead spit of our Mynty, who was my first kitty x

  17. Henry the First looks ALOT like my first cat Simpson!!! Same rules applied at my house too. When I left home I was NOT allowed to take Simpson & she lived to be 20 yrs old.
    She was the reason I became a cat lover…..I owe it all to her!!!!
    Happy Birthday Henry the First!!!! Run free sweet boy!!!
    Sherri-Ellen & Nylablue too

  18. He was handsome and he left you with special memories.

  19. He looks like a mighty cat. πŸ™‚

  20. He looks just like me! Is that my daddy?

Purrlease leave your valuable meows here

Walk and Pig-out

I walk, travel and pig-out

Pit's Fritztown News

A German Expat's Life in Fredericksburg/Texas

on the road with Animalcouriers

pet transport through Europe and beyond

Daily Feline Wisdom

Wise cats help you be more like them

Dakota's Den

Daily Doings Of A Dog Named Dakota, Let The Barking Begin!

One Drawing Daily

I've been drawing and painting and learning (almost) every day since the 9th September 2014

http://15andmeowing.com

A not-so-crazy couple with 15 cats

Jackie's Photos

A photographic account of my holidays and maybe some other photos too.

Unconfirmed Bachelorette

Proudly living alone with cats

running in t shirt

trying to get faster even as I get older

Catwoods Porch Party

~ art, cats, nature, animals, weather, and whatever ~

kraftycatcreations

A Mashup of Whatever ME/CFS Lets Me Publish

The Mad Hooligan Cats

The adventures of Bo and Kobi

My Three Moggies

The everyday lives of Archie, Oscar and Henry...

Northampton Now

Northampton's newest news website

Katzenworld

Welcome to the world of cats!

writetowag

All things Cairn...Snapshots of my Cairn Terrier, Trev & Caring For Your Senior Dog

MarathonMAGIC!

For marathon runners who want to know in beginners terms

hannahandlucy

Just another WordPress.com site

Usyaka and Pirate

Photos of the Oriental Shorthair cat Usyaka and her companion Pirate the cat.

Winter

A Doll's life

FOZZIE.M

Life in Rural Australia

Piglove

Adventures of Bacon and Friends

angelswhisper2011

Me and my Granny

Lessons With Oscar

Life Through the Eyes of a Blind Cat

Bad Cat Chris

The Baddest Cat You'll Ever Love

bongodogblog

The life of Bongo

Rescued Rover Dog Training

Lakewood, Colorado Dog Training (720) 507-6837

The Canadian Cats

Meezers At Large

Deziz World

The Life of Service Cats

Living the Squeak Life

We're a group of guinea-pigs and we are living the "squeak" life!

Me, You and Zu

Life with dogs, crazy cats, hedgehogs & all the fiascos that come with it!

Playful Kitty

Cats, Tips, and Catnip Trips

Blues Lounge

A Great Place for Russian Blues

FourCatPaw

I'm a Feline. I exist as a red tabby in this third dimension world. Brought love for you!!! by Yelloz and Servant Z

Diary of the cat at work

a record of my busy life

Purrfect Kitties

Roxy & Tigerlino's Silly Blog

Everyday Adventures in Havachon Heaven

The Good, Crazy, & Adorable Life of One Havachon Puppy

All Fur One and One Fur all

Living on the lap of luxury

Reflections of a Shaddow

Thoughts and feelings of a black cat.

fervour & forever

Passion is a five letter word : Heart - by Cat Forsley

Bailey Boat Cat

Adventures of a feline afloat!

Haiku By Ku

A Poetic Pup's Poems

Some Animals are Crackers

Silly, weird, crazy & cute animals

Leo Land SV

Feline Musings From the Northern Rim of Silicon Valley

Mickey Math

Calculating the happiest place.

Luke's Adventures

AKA - Mischievous Hijinks

